Haunted Iceland... íslesnkar draugasögur


Sometimes I take small side jobs of translating Icelandic or English into Japanese. Most of the times I am not really willing to receive such a job because it is hard work to follow sentences that somebody else has written. Shocking But I do admit that it enriches my life, not only my pocket! but my view to various things that I am not familiar with.

For example I translated about Icelandic tourist spots this spring for an DVD publishing. More to say, I did narration in Japanese, too!! As result, I know now many things about tourist spots in Iceland, where I have never been to!!
Tounge he he.

But there is also translating job that really pleases me once in a while. One of that kind of jobs was to translate the Icelandic ghost stories into Japanese. This task is from the G-T group in Stokkseyri and they opened "the haunted house" (Draugasetur) there few years ago.

I remember that there was discussion on the media when this "House" was opened, but I didn’t pay so much attention on it at that time.

Anyway the stories that were given to me are 24 in total, and they are all short, because this is guiding narration (leiðsögur) for visitors at the "House". ( I did the narration, too, again! You can hear me if you tune the Japanese language)

This was almost the first time that I read Icelandic ghost stories, and I found them interesting and fascinating. Some of them are about traditional ghosts, some are funny (especially the story about Danish ghost who was called upon from his grave by mistake. He did not give in the controlling words of grave-intruder simply because he didn’t understand Icelandic!
LoL ) and some are pathetic and beautiful.

I am so curious how these stories were born. It is common for all folklore and every folktale has its "origin of birth" behind itself. I imagine what people must have seen in the nature, what they were scared, what they missed and what they wanted to believe.... I think the ghost stories are not tales about ghosts, but more about the people who believed them.

Some colleague clergies of mine or pious people seem to think that it is "anti-Christ" to talk about such ghosts, but I don’t agree with them. The ghost stories let me think better about people and their life, about things which people wanted to convey to next generations, or about "imperfectness" of the life on the earth (at least for human eyes). I see something very human and very beautiful in the Icelandic ghost stories (but not in the recent Holiwood horrors).

Now it seems that the tourist company has opened “Haunted Reykjavík tour” every day at 8 o’clock starting at Aðalstræti during summer time. I am curious and want to participate in the tour once. But honestly .... I am scared to go alone!
Crying Does somebody want to join me?? Please!! Kissing


Before I get some complains: For me it is important to write in English sometimes, simply because I have many friends who haven’t learned Icelandic yet and I want to share my blogg with them, too.



« Síðasta færsla | Næsta færsla »

Athugasemdir

1 Smámynd: Sigurður Hreiðar

Vitaskuld ert þú frjáls að því að skrifa á ensku ef þér sýnist svo og mér sýnist þér fara það ágætlega úr hendi. Feginn samt að pistillinn er ekki á japönsku -- er hægt að skrifa japönsku með latínuletri? -- Ég minnist þess þessa daga sem ég heimsótti Japan fyrir 16 árum hve erfitt var að átta sig á götumerkingum og öðru, allt með þessum fallegu, teiknuðu stöfum!

En draugasögur og aðrar þjóðsögur, þær eru Íslendingum dýrmætur arfur. Ég hef líka orðið var við að annarra þjóða mönnum þykir það líka. Einu sinni sem oftar var ég veislustjóri úti á landi nema hvað þar varð ég að bulla á ensku vegna samsetningar gestanna og einhverra hluta vegna fór ég að rifja upp íslenskar huldufólkssögur. Þú þekkir það sem prestur hvað það er yndislegt þegar maður finnur að allur salurinn er eitt eyra! Og núna mörgum árum seinna fékk ég nýlega kveðju frá konu úr þessum hópi, sem bað kunningja sinn íslenskan að skila kveðju til mannsins sem sagði þeim þessar „wonderful stories of the hidden people“!

Sigurður Hreiðar, 31.8.2007 kl. 09:25

2 Smámynd: Greta Björg Úlfsdóttir

I agree with you about the Hollywood-ghosts, they are horrible! Whereas our own Icelandic ghosts are quite fascinating....

I would be more than happy to join you on a ghost-walkabout in downtown Reykjavík... 

Greta Björg Úlfsdóttir, 31.8.2007 kl. 20:12

3 Smámynd: halkatla

fín færsla og flott komment frá bubbles

halkatla, 31.8.2007 kl. 20:36

4 Smámynd: Toshiki Toma

Kæru bloggvinir,
Takk fyrir athugasemdirnar og álitin.
Jónas, sem er skipuleggjandi "Haunted Reykjavík tour" er búinn að bjóða mér í ferð!!  Ég vil þakka 
Jónasi fyrir "generous mind" hans!! 
En núna þarf ég að fara í ferðina... Oh, my God!!  

Toshiki Toma, 31.8.2007 kl. 21:03

5 Smámynd: Toshiki Toma

Kæri Sigurður,
Þar sem þú segir um japönsku, langar mig til að bæta nokkru orði.
Japanskan er alls ekki erfitt tungumál!!! heldur frekar auðvelt, sérstaklega sem talað mál  
HÍ byður upp núna japönskunám og nú hefst fimmta námsár. Ég er að veita aðstoð í náminu frá upphafi, en 30 - 35 nemendur koma til að læra japönsku á hverju ári. Meira að segja fara 5-9 af þeim til Japans sem skiptinemendur eftir að þeir eru búnir að læra eins árs nám þarna í HÍ.
Mér finnst þetta glæsilegt og ég óska innilega að svona samskipti milli Íslands og Japans þróist meira í framtíðinni.
Það er alls ekki vitlaust að ímynda mér að ég geti skrifað línur á japönsku í blogginu í náinni framtíð !!

Toshiki Toma, 31.8.2007 kl. 21:21

6 Smámynd: Svava frá Strandbergi

Skemmtilegur pistill hjá þér. Ég fór einmitt á Draugasetrið í sumar og tröllasetrið líka.

Svava frá Strandbergi , 2.9.2007 kl. 05:19

Innskráning

Ath. Vinsamlegast kveikið á Javascript til að hefja innskráningu.

Hafðu samband